Taking a Shortcut

Back again!

Over the last few weeks I’ve been working out with a 5 day split. It’s been going fairly well up until about a week ago. While doing standard squats I tweaked my back a bit. This has forced me to take a couple weeks of back workouts off. Not my favorite thing to do. Especially considering it’s one of my favorite workouts to do. This kind of led me to believe that maybe I needed to dial it back for a little while.

Having said that, it has brought me back to a routine I’ve been wanting to try for a while now. One that I’ve tried in the past and failed at. The routine in question is one some readers may already be familiar with: Jim Stoppani’s Shortcut to Size.

Dr. Stoppani has several “Shortcut to” programs. One for size, for strength, and one for shred. The program for size is one currently available online through Bodybuilding.com. This program utilize a periodization scheme using micro cycles. Each week during the program changes the rep schedule. This ranges from a high of 15 to a low of 3. This allows the trainee to work through a month long program hitting muscles through the four major rep ranges: Endurance, Hypertrophy, Power, and Strength. To me, it’s really an interesting concept. The whole program is made up of 3 phases (monthly) that are broken down into 4 weekly blocks. Each week consists of 4 separate workouts. I’m planning on doing a 2 on-1 off-2 on-2 off type of schedule. I’m hoping it provides some solid overall results.

If anyone happens to read this, and has done this program, please leave me a comment letting me know what your results were. I’d love to hear from you!

I’ll try to get back to the blogging on a regular basis, especially to keep everyone posted on my own results.

Leave a Reply

