It’s a Marathon

Day one is now in the books for the new program I’m trying out. I discussed it a little bit in my last post, though I’m not sure many actually saw that post. Regardless, I did say I would provide something of an update on my results from the first workout.

All in all, it went quite well. I tried to push myself through it and I had to make some adjustments, but nothing major. As I said before, this program is a 3 month routine that is broken into three 1 month phases. Each phase changes the rep scheme. The first week of each phase calls for 12-15 reps for each exercise. I went with 15 for each. After all, if you’re in that range, you may as well really feel the burn.

The first day called for a series of chest, triceps, and calf exercises. These are probably my three favorite parts to work on, so this was a good start to things. I found myself enjoying this workout and breaking a killer sweat along the way. I struggled a bit getting through the incline bench press, but I was able to push through. I also changed a couple of the prescribed exercises. One of these was the addition of the close grip press. I’m pretty much obsessed with working the triceps, and this particular movement is a good way to move toward that end goal. By the time I got to that point, my arms were pretty much smoked, but in a good way. I think I put together some pretty solid destruction on the right areas and I’m looking forward to next week when the reps drop down to 10 for each movement.

I think, if I can follow this program for the duration, it’s going to prove quite fruitful. I like the idea of the built in micro cycle concept and I like the idea of hitting all the major rep ranges. I’m not one to typically work heavy strength sets but I’m looking forward to those weeks as well. In addition, I think it will be interesting to see how much weight I can add at the beginning of each phase. The claims for this program tout between 10-20 pounds extra at the beginning of each phase. I’ll certainly take that as time goes on. No matter what, I’ve decided to start very light just to make sure I hit some gains along the way. When all is said and done, I might turn right back around and do it again. Just keep adding weight to the whole program. Maybe even do it until I hit some plateau points. I haven’t really had an issue with that yet and I suspect I won’t for quite some time.

As the title implies, this whole exercise thing is a marathon. A lot of people think it’s a sprint and want results in 30 days or less. They want six pack abs in six weeks. They want it all. Instant gratification. I don’t want that and I don’t expect that. I want to work for it. I want to sweat for it. I want to know I’ve earned it. Whether it takes 3 months or 3 years to get where I want to be, at least I’ll know I did it right.

Leave a Reply

